Skip directly to content

Inauguration of Jefferson Davis

Jefferson Davis was inaugurated as the first and only president of the Confederate States of America after the South seceded. The ceremony was held at Montgomery, the first Confederate capital, on February 18, 1861.
Courtesy of Alabama Department of Archives and History